The Neuron Series

Hi everyone. Sorry I’ve been quiet lately and haven’t responded to comments yet, but a couple of weeks ago I had a severe mental breakdown related to my depression/anxiety/trauma issues, bad enough that I almost had to be hospitalized, so all I’ve really been doing since then is adjusting to new medication (It’s a non-SSRI antidepressant since I figured out a few years ago that SSRIs make my symptoms significantly worse, which is why I’ve stayed away from meds for the last several years) and just generally giving myself time to relax and let myself be calm and focus on getting stable and healthier.

Anyway, I haven’t felt very inspired during the last few weeks but I did start playing around with overlays. I took a basic line drawing of a tree and turned it into a multicolored pattern in photoshop, then put various pictures over the top of it with a double exposure app I have in my phone and got some nice results. A friend of mine who’s a neuroscientist said the patterns of branches look like neural connections, and so the Neuron Series was born.

IMG_5572.JPG

IMG_5610.JPG

IMG_5573.JPG

IMG_5611.JPG

3 comments on “The Neuron Series

  1. rangewriter says:

    Wow, even in illness you are brilliantly creative! I love the 1st and 3rd images in this series. Hope the new med regime helps.

    • We don’t even really know each other but I’ve come to see you as a friend, and I always look forward to seeing I have a new comment from rangewriter waiting for me 🙂

      • rangewriter says:

        It’s interesting how strangers slowly evolve into friends online. I actually had the pleasure of meeting one of my blogging friends in person this summer. It was a little unnerving for us both, but the result was fantastic. I know that some folks get sucked into predatory situations online, but I think the slow process of getting to know people through short, but very intimate glimpses into their lives in the blogosphere leads us to feel true empathy and concern for each other.

Leave a Reply

