Transformations

I made a headdress to wear to Burning Man this year, and since I was in the mood for a drive I went out the the Maryhill Stonehenge Memorial to try it out. I have to confess, I hid in my car until the other sightseers left. I’m way too shy to be weird in public. Unless it’s at Burning Man, of course. Weird is a little more normal there 🙂

ImageImage

6 comments on “Transformations

  1. rangewriter says:

    Great shots. I really like the tonality of the second one. Great location for these, too. That is such a cool place.

    • Thank you, the second one is my favorite too. And the filtering I used erased my under-eye bags ;). I love that I live in a place with deserts, mountains, beaches, forests, and all manner of monuments and sights within a few hours’ drive. The NW is great.

  2. betunada says:

    a question (or two) & a comment!
    izzat a cat skull?
    yea, yerrite: appropriate @ hombre-en-fuego.
    when in portland we often go to the ‘saturday’ market (its on other days, right?) and we’ve stopped at “Spoon Man”. i bought a jocular cleaver-thru’-the-head thing and wore it until we left downtown. the silver man even stopped and let me take a pixure of him, i guess it’s ’cause i was ‘weird’ too. then i walked thru’ the ALL THE APPARATUS band playing, videoing them, still with the cleaver thru’ my head, and many people thought i was part of their act. i suppose i was. anyhow, GOOD THING you didn’t scare unsuspecting non-burning, non-downtown market people with that!

    • Yep, that’s a cat skull. A friend of mine found the poor thing in her neighborhood after it had been killed by a car, and she knew I love bones so I cleaned the bones myself (NOT a pleasant process) to use for costuming and art projects.

  3. speeddemon2 says:

    Normally halos are something I don’t like but the top image really works BECAUSE of the halo. Great processing choice and a very mysterious image to boot.

    • Thank you. I agree, the halo is an effect of the Photoshop HDR technique I use and I often find it annoying and distracting, but in this case I thought it kind of worked 🙂

Leave a Reply

